Why I Like Scrivener


I remember writing half of my first novel on a typewriter. That was only twelve years ago, but at the time, I could not afford a computer. It makes me laugh to think about it now. It was an electric typewriter, so I wasn’t entirely buried in the Stone Age where I was forced to chisel my letters out by hand, but it is still hilarious when I imagine that in my mind. You should have seen my face the first time I sat down at our new computer and started to use Microsoft Word. I felt as if I had found a long-lost family member. Oh my, I was happier than a turkey who woke up on Black Friday.

It wasn’t until about a year ago that I discovered Scrivener. ($40 on their website: http://www.literatureandlatte.com/scrivener.php)

When I found Scrivener, Word became that old toy which gets shoved into a box and stored in a dark corner of the attic. The one that Grandma finds several years later covered in cobwebs and dust, and then adds to the family yard sale. There are so many reasons why I prefer to use Scrivener, but I will only list the top three in this post.

1) Corkboard.

This amazing feature allows me to view a brief description of each chapter with a single glance. If I forget what a chapter was about, I can refer to the Corkboard with one click.

2) Compile into any format.

With Scrivener, you can compile one or more chapters, specific sections, or the entire story into various formats which include: .DOC, .PDF, .EPUB, .MOBI, etc.

3) Organization.

On the left hand side, there is a marvelous panel that shows me the entire story. With one click, I can effortlessly jump to any chapter I need. Also, if I decided to change things around, I can move chapters up and down as I chose with the click and drag method.

With its ease of use and many advanced features I did not even get into, Scrivener has become the word processing option I turn to first. At $40, I believe it is well worth the price. There are so many features I didn’t mention in this post, and I’m sure there are things that I have not even used or am aware of that are possible with this program. You can also use the product for 30 days before you decide whether or not you would like to make a purchase.

Thanks for reading,

Chris

Would love to hear your thoughts...

