Welcome to My Story


Last night, I dreamed about one of our One7 girls facing persecution and physical abuse at home. Sadly, this is not only a dream for most, but a vivid reality each and every day. I woke up at 4:30 with these lyrics swirling around my head and knew I had to write them down. This is called My Story.

My Story
© 2013 Chris Martin

(verse one)

Sitting here alone, the silence and the shadows speak to me and are my only friends
Between the lines, no one reads the words I write about my life and stories with no end
Tearstains on my pillow, a constant reminder of the night before
Bruises and scars, I don’t think I can take this anymore

(chorus)

Welcome to my story, a world that lingers just behind my smile
I don’t know if you want to, but I was hoping we could talk for a little while
There’s so much that I want to say, but the words get lost, please help me understand
They keep telling me God is in control, but I just can’t see His plan

My life doesn’t matter to anyone, I’ve known nothing but pain
For once I want to dance in the sun, but my world is darkened with rain
Don’t I deserve something different, I want the chance to have a better life
The knife on the floor, blade by the sink, they call my name tonight

Welcome to my story

(verse two)

In the silence, I cry out for help, but no one hears my voice
In the mirror, a stranger looks back and tells me I have no choice
No friends at school, nothing but endless rejection at home
In this world so full of people, why do I always feel alone

(repeat chorus)

(bridge)

I dig deep inside and find the strength to stand
Open the blinds, let the sun pour in, wipe the tears with my hand

(final chorus)

Welcome to my story, a world that lingers just behind my smile
I’m not sure if I can, but I need to talk to God for a little while
I’m so far from perfect, I know I am going to fall
Thankful for the grace and mercy of a savior, His blood covers it all

Welcome to my story

Would love to hear your thoughts...

