The Day We Will Never Forget


I’ve read a lot of blog posts today about the horrific events that occurred on Sept 11, 2001. It’s so hard to believe that it’s been 12 years. Like everyone else, I will never forget that day for as long as I live. I was actually awakened around 3am with a dreadful feeling of anxiety. It was something I had never experienced and haven’t again to this day. All I could do was pray for everyone I could think of and then some. My mother was also up at the same time praying. We will probably never know if our prayers saved anyone’s life that morning.

I remember being glued to the TV for weeks. Crying with those who had lost loved ones. Praying for the ones who still didn’t know whether they had lost anyone or not. Rejoicing when families were re-united. Shaking my head in wonder and amazement at those who risked their lives to help others trapped under the rubble. It was a roller coaster ride of emotions that left me feeling helpless, speechless, and even more thankful for the loved ones I had in my life.

What struck me the most were the children who lost parents that day. Whether it was a mom or dad, or maybe both. No matter what age you are, losing a parent…well, to put it quite simply…it sucks. No amount of kind words, flowers, gift baskets, covered dishes, or well-meant intentions can ease that pain. People have said that time heals all pain. Not sure if those same people have ever lost a parent.

Soon after 9-11, I wrote some simple song lyrics in an attempt to put into words what I was feeling. In the last twelve years, my writing has improved immensely. I thought about re-writing this before I posted it, but I decided to leave it as-is. It’s called Pray For the Children. 

Pray For The Children

(verse one)

In a single moment
The whole world stood still
Time lost all meaning
It may never heal

So many innocent lives
Taken that September day
The shattered dreams of little children
It’s for them we need to pray

(chorus)

Pray for the children
Who were left behind
To face the world alone
So cruel and unkind

Johnny won’t play catch with daddy
Susie won’t get help from mommy
To pick a dress for her wedding day
A whole life completely swept away

Pray for the children

(verse two)

In a classroom full of kids
A teacher looks at each face
Tears well up in her eyes
As she’s taken to a different time and place

A little boy raises his hand
Her heart stops as she waits
He says “Teacher, please don’t cry
Mommy and daddy are waiting for me at Heaven’s gates”

9-11 memory

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook by clicking on the appropriate link to the right. Thanks!

Have a blessed day,

Chris

Would love to hear your thoughts...

