Dear Jennifer


Fourteen years ago today, we stood there, face to face, and promised the rest of our lives to each other. I’m not sure if we truly knew in that moment exactly what we were getting ourselves into. It’s easy to get caught up in the ceremony, flowers, pictures, food, relatives, music, and everything else that is involved with a wedding. When all is said and done, the vows we made to each other on that day become the pulse and the heartbeat of our marriage. After we said “I will”, the words were no longer merely a sentiment written on paper, but a sacred promise spoken in the very presence of God.

It would be easy to look at where we are now and talk about the amazing marriage we have. While that is indeed true, we both know the journey has been anything but easy. There are moments I look back on, and I am rendered speechless by the grace and mercy God has shown to us, even though it was undeserved. Even during our darkest, most trying times, the light of hope was never completely snuffed out. In a world where being married means you stay together until you find someone better, we have grown closer to each other and persevered for something we believe in.

I know there have been times during the last fourteen years where I came up short on being a husband, father, and friend. I want to thank you for your continued forgiveness and acceptance of the fact that no one is perfect. Unfortunately, there isn’t a handy pocket guide to mastering all of those things. It’s a constant learning process. We’ve learned lessons together, and for that I am extremely grateful. You have truly lived out the promise we made of for better or worse. Having you by my side is something I will never take for granted. You have made me a better person.

Life isn’t easy. It’s messy, difficult, unfair, and sometimes hard to understand. So many people go through all of that alone, and they don’t have the privilege of sharing their experiences with someone special. I’m one of the lucky ones, I have you. Thank you for being my wife, best friend, and love of my life. I can’t wait to see what the next fourteen years of our marriage has to offer. I’m sure we will fail, come up short, and lose our way. We can’t expect to know everything and do it all perfectly.

With God as our navigator, we will push through the hard times and trust each other to be there when we need help. I love your smile, beautiful eyes, heart of compassion, and your rock-solid presence in my life. I can’t imagine doing life with anyone else.

All the words in the English language can’t fully convey all that you mean to me. I hope you know that. Happy Anniversary. I love you.

Chris

wedding 005

SPACE

SPACE

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook by clicking on the appropriate link to the right. Thanks!

Have a blessed day

Would love to hear your thoughts...

