A Dad Moment


I was thinking about my Dad this morning. He passed away suddenly and very unexpectedly in October of 2008. Sometimes I wonder if there will ever be a time I think about him, and it doesn’t hurt. That was one of the darkest times in my entire life. I was blessed to have a father who loved me and made sure I knew it. Thankfully, I have so many happy memories I can rely on to bring a smile to my face even through the tears.

I wrote these lyrics a couple years ago. Dad and I used to play golf every Monday when I got off work. For most, Monday is the absolute worst day of the week. For Dad and I, it was the one day of the week we looked forward to the most. Love you, Dad.

Dad Moment
© 2011 Chris Martin

(verse one)

I drove by the park today
Walked the course where we used to play
The grass is going to need a cut real soon

So many memories came to life
Wish I could turn back the time
I sure do miss those Monday afternoons

It was you and me in the fading sun
Just a boy and his dad having too much fun

I know you’re smiling down on this broken heart

(chorus)

I never knew pain could hurt this way
I remember everything you used to say
About life, about love, and all the rest

I don’t know why you had to leave
God took the strongest part of me
If forgetting is the answer, then I’ve failed the test

Forgive me this is where they start
Tear stains on the deepest part
It’s just another Dad moment from my heart

(verse two)

The kids are growing up so fast
It’s hard to live outside the past
They talk about you pretty much every day

Holidays and birthday wishes
They miss your hugs and the kisses
Nothing can replace your gentle way

Now it’s you and me in the fading light
On my knees with a prayer tonight

Please ask God to heal Mom’s broken heart

(repeat chorus)

 

Make sure to follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook by clicking on the appropriate link to the right. Thanks!

Have a blessed day,

Would love to hear your thoughts...

