Keep Moving Forward


Time is always moving forward. Whether we like it or not. It’s hard to believe this is January 1, 2014. Where did 2013 go? The older I get, the more time just feels like a blur. I thought it was moving pretty fast when I was younger, but once I got married and had kids, yeah, time was like “See ya!” It’s so easy for all of us to look back and wonder what might have been. Sometimes it’s good to look back, if only to see where we’ve come from. To see progress. My challenge to all of us this year is to keep moving forward.

The old cliche’s are worn out. “Live life to the fullest.” “Live as if today was your last.” “Don’t dwell on the past, live in the present.” I could go on and on, but you get my drift. And I’m not saying those are bad, just over used. At my age, If those things haven’t sunk into my brain by now, they never will.

God doesn’t dwell on our past. We shouldn’t either. We are all going to fail, fall short, but it’s what we do in that moment that truly matters. Are we going to stay down and let the devil push us around, or are we going to rise up, believe God has forgiven all of our wrongdoing, and keep moving forward? I’m sure we’ve all done things in our past that we regret. That’s just part of life. I believe there is a difference between wishing you had done something differently, and allowing that mistake to rule your present. To me, regret shows that we have changed and want to do things better.

We’re still going to screw up, but that’s okay. It’s called being human. I have completely accepted that fact, and realize that I can never do anything to obtain God’s salvation or forgiveness. He gives it freely. I’ve known this for a long time, but it took many years to truly believe it. When we fall, satan uses those moments to prey on our guilt and make us think God is pissed off. Sometimes we feel that we’re just one step away from God turning his back on us. That SO isn’t the case.

Because He is the author of grace and mercy, He will never turn His back. We may not always feel it, but He’s never more than a whisper away. He didn’t send His one and only Son to die on the Cross for nothing. He longs for a relationship with us. He is our Savior. He is our Lord. He is our Daddy.

The past is always going to try and haunt us. Keep moving forward.

We screw up and fail. Keep moving forward.

We hurt others. Seek forgiveness, and keep moving forward.

I’ve written about an addiction that nearly destroyed my life. You can read about it HERE. I could have easily allowed the guilt and feelings of failure overtake me and keep me steadfast on the same path to death and destruction. It was a very difficult road to walk, but I kept moving forward. Repentance means turning away from the sin, and walking in the opposite direction. With God in my corner, and my wife faithfully by my side, I was able to overcome.

No matter what hardships or trials come your way, keep moving forward. Life is hard, messy, and unpredictable. Things will happen that are completely out of your control. You will feel like giving up. You will feel like no one cares. You will lose your grip. You might even fall off the ledge. No matter what, just don’t ever turn back.

Keep. Moving. Forward.

Chris Martin

Would love to hear your thoughts...

