It’s Not About Me


It’s not about me.

Four words that have been wrecking me, and changing my thoughts and views on God and the Gospel a lot lately.

I’ve got so much running through my mind right now, and burning inside my heart, I don’t even know where to start. One thing I know for sure. I’m tired of being weak and afraid. I’m ready to start truly rocking people with the love of Jesus. That’s why we’re here. We are to become love here on Earth, and destroy Hell for a living.

For too long, I’ve been afraid to talk with strangers about the Gospel, because I thought there was a method or outline I needed to follow. I didn’t want to screw that up and possibly lose a chance to bring someone to Jesus.

News flash. We don’t bring people to Jesus. We sow the seeds, we may even water the seeds, but there is nothing we can do in our human power to convert a non believer. It’s all up to God. We become love, and that automatically flows from us and into other people’s lives. When we are rooted in the love of Jesus, it has no choice but to spill out and touch others.

It’s not about me.

The Gospel isn’t about us incorporating Jesus into our lives. It’s not that at all. It’s total, complete, and radical surrender to Him. And not just bits and pieces of our lives. Everything. Die to self, and live for Jesus. How can someone’s words hurt us in any way? We’re already dead. How can we be rejected, ever? God has already accepted us. We are sons and daughters of the most high King of Kings and Lord of Lords. The very same power that raised Christ from the grave of death resides within us as believers. Think about that for a moment. Let it sink in.

Jesus has built the Kingdom inside each of us so that we can love others and share the Gospel with no strings attached. We have everything if we have Jesus. There is nothing more we need from anyone. Acceptance? God’s done that already. Love? God covered that as well. Value? God created us in His image. Enough said.

It’s not about me.

I’ve decided to take a break from blogging for a while. To those who have been reading The Stranger, don’t worry. The remaining chapters have already been scheduled and will be posted each Friday until the end. I wouldn’t leave you hanging.

I find myself regularly checking stats and looking for comments on my posts, and I need to stop doing that. It’s not about me. I also feel it’s easy to sit behind a computer screen and talk about Jesus by typing on a keyboard. While I have a passion for writing, and it comes easy for me, I also think it might be hindering my ability to speak to others in person. I’m too comfortable sitting in my office chair and writing articles.

Am I going to stop blogging altogether? I don’t think so. I’ve been publishing two articles a week plus Fiction Friday stuff, but it’s becoming too much. I felt that would be the only way to keep readers coming to my blog on a regular basis. Stats. Comments. Likes. Shares. It’s not about me. I’ve decided to change and get even more outside my comfort zone.

My wife and I are also starting to try and raise monthly support as we continue working with the One7 ministry. We have set a goal of $1,000 a month, but if God decides to start sending more funds each month, I will consider quitting my job and go full time with One7. Here is the link to our fundraiser page which I will publish every month. http://www.youcaring.com/nonprofits/we-need-monthly-support/134295

For those who have followed me on a regular basis, I thank you so much. Your encouragement has been amazing. I ask you now to pray for me. I’m tried of being the quiet guy who is an amazing writer. It’s time for me to step out and become a full time Christian. And by that I don’t mean just quoting Bible verses to people and telling them how we’re supposed to be living our lives. The world has heard it all. Over and over. It’s time we started showing them what we mean. Christianity is a full contact sport. A great line from Todd White. Go to YouTube and search for Todd White. You won’t be disappointed. Trust me.

It’s not about me.

Surrender everything to Jesus. Get out of your comfort zone.

When placed into difficult situations, we like to offer up excuses. We always look at what we can’t do or what we feel we’re not capable of doing.

I’m not strong enough.

I’m not courageous enough.

I’m not smart enough.

I’m not outspoken enough.

I’m not pretty enough.

I’m not good enough.

God reaches out, picks us up, and holds us tightly inside His loving arms.

He smiles and whispers softly, “I am.”

It’s not about me.

Would love to hear your thoughts...

