Audience of One


I’ve been a Christian since 1992, but I am finally starting to realize what that title truly means. For many years, I read the script and played the role, but it was methodical, robotic at best. I knew the key Bible verses and all the “Christian” buzz words, but I was merely going through the motions. The reality of the Gospel was just a foreign concept to me. It was something the missionaries in Africa were doing.

I didn’t have a spiritual walk, it was more like a spiritual fetal position. I couldn’t even consider it a crawl.

I knew something had to happen, a change needed to take place in my life. I began to realize that I was doing absolutely nothing to further the Kingdom of God and share the Gospel with other people. And that’s not okay. If we are born again, claiming to be a follower of Jesus, then it’s not okay for us to be dormant in our faith.

Jesus paid much too high a price for us to just be comfortable with the daily routine of life.

I’ve been on staff with an inner city youth ministry here in Charlotte for three and a half years. I write about One7 all the time. We’re feeding the hungry, housing the homeless, giving clothes to the poor, and being the hands and feet of Jesus to this community. Those things are awesome and, in doing them, we are living out the true Gospel. However, something has been missing. Something I just couldn’t put my finger on until now.

I had been neglecting the one thing that should be paramount above all others. My deep, personal, intimate relationship with the creator of the universe.

I wasn’t spending quality time in secret with an audience of One. The One who created me in His very image. The One who knows everything about me. The One who offered the best of Heaven when He sent Jesus to Earth as the ultimate sacrifice of love. Psalm 91:1 (KJV) says:

He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

In Matthew 6, Jesus talks about giving and even praying in a secret place. Somewhere away from the noise and distractions of life. A place where it’s just a son or daughter of the King, and their Daddy.

5 “And when you pray, do not be like the hypocrites, for they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the street corners to be seen by others. Truly I tell you, they have received their reward in full. 6 But when you pray, go into your room, close the door and pray to your Father, who is unseen. Then your Father, who sees what is done in secret, will reward you.

Our personal relationship with Christ is more important than anything. Like a sponge, we need to soak up His unconditional love, His grace, and His word. That way, when we come into contact with others, we will drip nothing but Jesus. If we aren’t spending time alone with God, how we will fill up on what we need to share with the world? There are so many people lost and alone who need what we have. They need God. They need love. We were placed on this earth to share the Gospel with everyone around us. Colossians says we have “Christ in us, the hope of glory.” We are the hope to this generation.

In order to accomplish my goal of spending more time with God in the secret place, I’ve dropped a lot of distractions. Mainly, I deleted all the social media apps from my phone (Facebook alone survived because it’s the best way to communicate with the One7 kids). I’m just tired of all these things keeping me away from developing an even closer relationship with my Father. Too often, we allow everyday life to interfere with our true calling in this world.

Christianity is a full contact sport. Let’s get into the game.

Would love to hear your thoughts...

