Getting Real


Wow. God is doing so much in my life right now. It’s hard to put into words.

I have finally stopped focusing on everything around me, and started developing a more personal relationship with my Creator. God the Father. My Daddy. And I am discovering how awesome He is. Psalm 91:1(KJV) says:

He that dwelleth in the secret place of the most High shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.

It is so vital to spend alone time with God. If it’s only fifteen minutes, take fifteen minutes. If you can spend hours, spend hours. What I have been doing lately is using the thirty minutes I have for lunch break to get on my face in His presence. Sometimes I just cry. Sometimes I sing. Sometimes I pray the entire time. It’s always different. It’s amazing.

Getting into that secret place, whether it’s just reading your Bible, or talking with our Papa, is what fills us up spiritually. How can we give to others if we’re just walking around like empty human shells? Zombies with no life within us. The Gospel is all about giving. “For God so loved the world, that He gave His only son.”

We shouldn’t pray or read the Bible to fill our minds full of knowledge. We should do those things so we can give it out to everyone we come in contact with. We fill up on God, so we can become love and share.

I can see things changing in my life already. I called up Time Warner Cable yesterday. We decided to drop our TV services. It’s nothing legalistic or trying to give something up for Lent. And we’re not saying it’s wrong to watch TV. We just believe that Jesus paid much too high a price for us to sit around and watch TV when we could be out telling everyone about Him. Our time here is short. We want to take advantage of every moment. Anyway, so I get a very nice lady on the phone and I explain what I want to do. She tries to sell me on some different packages that would save me money, because that’s what she gets paid to do. After about fifteen or twenty minutes, she realizes that I’m not going to change my mind. She asks if there is anything else she can help me with.

About five minutes before that question, my heart had begun to beat a little faster and thump a little louder in my chest. I knew there was more I needed to say. I said, “No, but I do feel like I am supposed to tell you something. God loves you, and He thinks you are amazing. He cares about every part of your life.”

There were several seconds of stunned silence. Actually, on both our parts. It’s the first time I have ever done anything like that. She finally managed to get out a very excited and grateful sounding “thank you very much”, and then finished her closing script. I hung up, and realized I was shaking. It was an awesome feeling to know that God spoke through me and into a stranger’s life. Her name was Carrie. I wrote it down when she first answered.

I have no idea why God wanted me to say that, but I obeyed when He told me to do it. Maybe she had been thinking about suicide. Maybe she had a sick child at home. I may never know, and that’s okay. God knows.

The Gospel is real. It’s not a game. There are lives at stake, and we may just be the only ones to make a difference in someone’s life. We can sing about grace and love all day long, but it means nothing if we don’t become those things to a lost generation.

Get on your face before the God of this universe. Crawl up onto that altar every day and say “God, everything I am is Yours. I lay down my life so You can use me.”

Let’s become love, and crush Hell for a living.

Would love to hear your thoughts...

