Social Media


I used to be the guy who had all the apps installed on my iPhone. You know which ones I’m talking about. Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Pinterest (not for make-up tips or recipes, but to promote my blog posts and books), Google+, StumbleUpon, Oovoo, Tumblr, HootSuite, etc. My phone produced constant noise all day long. When I would wake up in the mornings, there were so many red alerts, my screen looked like a Christmas tree.

Well, I am thrilled to announce those days are over. Last week, I deleted Facebook from my phone. Last night, I deleted the rest of them. This is not some legalistic thing where I feel social media is taking up more of my time than my family, secret place encounters with God, or anything like that. The simple fact of the matter is this: I’m tired.

I finally realized that trying to keep up with all of these apps is absolutely exhausting. Anytime my phone made a sound, I immediately jumped on there to see if someone had liked a Facebook status, mentioned me on Twitter, or added me to Google+. Maybe someone left a comment on my blog or tagged me in a photo on Instagram. Ugh. No wonder my battery was always screaming for mercy.

It was so nice to wake up this morning, check my email in about two minutes, and put the phone down. I didn’t feel the sudden urge to pour a glass of egg nog, sing Silent Night, and wrap gifts.

One of the main reasons I tried to keep up with so many apps, was to promote my books. Being an independent author isn’t easy. We don’t have the backing of some huge publisher in New York to handle our marketing and promotion. We do all of it. And there is only one way I can describe the process: draining. For me, it’s so much more enjoyable to actually write a book than it is to try and let everyone know about it. And I wasn’t even spending the amount of time truly required to get the word “out there” to the masses.

Well, I’ve got to say that I’m pretty much over it now. I will continue to write books and blog posts, but the hours of marketing and promotion are over for me. Against all author tips, suggestions, and wisdom, I’m going to place my writing in God’s hands, and allow Him to find people who need to read my work. I’ll still have ads for my book here on the blog, and when I post something, it will automatically appear on my Twitter feed and Facebook author page, but I’m not going to bombard those apps with advertisements for my books. (I believe I just heard everyone in Twitter land let out a huge sigh of relief.)

If I reduce my Christian life to selling books instead of manifesting the Kingdom that lives within me, then I’m just waiting on a bus ride to Heaven.

Please don’t take that last statement as anything judgmental or me accusing other authors of being wrong. It’s not that at all. I’ve come to this point in my own life. This is what I’m doing. It has nothing to do with anyone else.

I truly believe God has given me the grace to pursue writing. He instilled this passion and desire within me, but I have to understand that I’m not doing it for me. I’ve never wanted to be famous or sell a million books. Honestly, I would love to make a living with the things I write, but if it never happens, that will be okay. I just want to glorify Father God with everything I do.

For those of you who follow me on Twitter and/or Facebook, and you don’t see much of me anymore, you will know why.

10 thoughts on “Social Media

  1. It’s a shame you don’t have a donate button! I’d definitely donate to
    this fantqstic blog!I guess for now i’ll settle for book-marking and adding your RSS feed to my
    Google account. I look forwad to new updates and will
    talk about this website with my Facebook group.
    Chat soon!

    Like

  2. I only have four apps on my phone Instagram which I hardly use as I cannot link it with my twitter on the phone I have (I still have a blackberry) FB which I check notifications but they are mainly from my personal fb, WP which I occasionally use to post the odd blog if I am away from home for a few days doing something interesting, but the main one I use is Twitter but only to post, I turned off all mobile notifications as I could not be bothered sorting them individually the only notification I miss are those with the scores when my local rugby team is playing and I am not able to watch the game lol, what I would really like is more control over what notification you can received so that rather than receiving mass notifications you could select one message from each media maybe once an hour that then tells you to look at that media rather than a message every time some one sneezes, FB is the worst especially as now with pages the only way you guarantee seeing posts from pages you like is to click the get notifications tab, my solution is to have a day off and other than if I am checking for a specific message I leave the computer and mobile turned off or on silent on Saturdays and spend that as pure family time

    Like

  3. Hey would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?
    I’m lookin to start myy own blog in thee near fyture but I’m having
    a hzrd time choosing betweden BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and
    Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different
    then mosst blogs andd I’m looking for something completely unique.

    P.S Apologies forr getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  4. This is one of the most refreshing posts I’ve seen in a long time by a fellow author struggling to market what you’ve written. I applaud you for having the energy to give it a go and learn a lot in the process, and for allowing the rest of us to learn from your experiences. I spent about a year trying to ramp up my social media presence and realized that I do not have the energy or desire–nor am I cut out–to live the frazzled, fractured life of a quiet, thoughtful author trying to be an ADHD marketing rep. I will continue to enjoy your blog posts! Blessings.

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts...

