It Was For Me


Just wanted to share some lyrics I wrote back in 2011. Not sure if I ever posted them on here. I had a friend of mine, also with the name Chris, write the melody. I’ll have to get my wife to demo this song one day, and I will add it to her music page.

 

It Was For Me
© 2011 Chris Martin/Chris Burnett

(verse one)

Welcome to my world of desperation
Welcome to the shadows of my dreams
Looking for the One who brings salvation
One who knows the deepest part of me

Futile words on paper tell the story
Darkness hides my hope of finding peace
Doubt becomes the antonym of glory
As my soul dissolves into the sweet release

(chorus)

What is amazing grace
Why is there power in the cross
Why did God send His Son
And suffer through such loss

Drops of blood on a rusty nail
A crown of thorns that bit so deep
It was for me
It was for me

(bridge)

It was for me He died
It was for me He bled
Sin has been crucified
Christ has risen from the dead

It was for me He came
It was for me He gave
I am no more the same
Christ has overcome the grave

(repeat chorus)

Looking for the One who brings salvation
One who knows the deepest part of me

One thought on “It Was For Me

Would love to hear your thoughts...

