I liked the movie God’s Not Dead…well, sort of (A Christian’s perspective)


Let’s be honest. People tend to get a little crazy when it comes to Christian movies. Big example: Noah. People were up in arms because the story wasn’t accurate with the Biblical version. We rented it the other night, and I was highly disappointed. And not because it wasn’t in alignment with Scripture. The movie was horrible. I was expecting Gladiator meets Genesis, and we ended up with 2.5 hours of boredom. I almost dozed off a couple of times. The special effects were pretty cool in a couple parts, but overall, it was a sleep fest.

With Hollywood so completely saturated with filth, I have to admit it is refreshing when something labeled as “Christian” catapults onto the big screen. It’s rare these days that we can take our children to see something clean, void of the normal cursing and violence.

When God’s Not Dead arrived, I was very eager to check it out. Let me say, I liked the movie, but I just wasn’t enraptured like 99% of the Christian community. Let me explain.

I personally don’t believe it’s our job to try and prove God exists. If we could scientifically prove His existence, why would we ever need to depend on faith? The Bible says that people will know us by our love, not our ability to argue, debate, or prove anything.

I used to be bad for that. I would jump on Facebook and Twitter and debate with people who didn’t agree with my beliefs. I have finally learned that those actions profit no one. All you end up with is two people at war with each other. It’s crazy.

I share Christ and the Gospel with people, but it’s up to them whether or not they accept it. They are the stewards of their own hearts. As Christians, it’s our job to plant seeds. We may be fortunate enough to water those seeds, but then again, we might not. But that’s okay. We love people. That’s it. Holy Spirit takes it from there.

Somehow, as Christians, we’ve taken on the belief that it’s up to us to change the world. It’s up to us to get people to repent and turn from their wicked ways. It’s up to us to keep a tally of how many souls we save.

If we die to ourselves, lay everything we are at the feet of Christ, and just love people, we will see those changes happen.

God’s Not Dead had some great story lines throughout the film. I believe the overall message they attempted to share is to stand up for what you believe in. And there is absolutely nothing wrong with that. We should most certainly stand up for our beliefs. It just has to be in the right way.

It all comes down to faith vs. feelings.

We all want to feel the goose bumps from Holy Spirit. We want to feel the heat flow through our hands when we pray for someone. When it happens, yes, it’s awesome. But whether or not we experience a “feeling”, that doesn’t change the truth of the Gospel. I’ve had times when I closed the door and entered the secret place to commune with God, and I felt absolutely nothing. But, it didn’t change my faith one bit. God was there, because He said He would be. Period.

Contrary to what the movie portrays, we aren’t going to convince people that God exists by arguing with them. We prove it by loving them unconditionally. Matthew 16 talks about the signs that follow believers. We just have to believe. It’s that simple. I’m perfectly okay with that. It’s settled in my heart what I believe. If others don’t agree, that’s great. It doesn’t change the way I view them one bit.

We were all created in God’s image. That one, mind-blowing fact has changed my life. When people understand their true identity in Christ, their lives will never be the same.

To recap, overall, I liked the movie God’s Not Dead. I just don’t agree with the main premise of debating the existence of God. We prove that by becoming love.

God is good, all the time. And all the time, God is good.

One thought on “I liked the movie God’s Not Dead…well, sort of (A Christian’s perspective)

Comments are closed.