Will the words ever stop?


Sometimes I sit at my computer and stare at a blank screen. It goes on for what feels like hours, but in reality, may only be a few moments.

I wonder if every writer feels the same way.

Will the words ever stop?

Will I sit here one day and have absolutely nothing to write about?

I believe as long as I’m alive, there will always be something to write about. Jesus took on human form and then died for me on a cross. That in itself should keep me going for nearly my entire life. Even if I can write nothing more than about being thankful for all He has done for me, that’s enough.

For a long time, I’ve had this passion for writing. I always thought I most enjoyed writing fiction, but over the last several months, I’ve discovered that desire has changed. I’ve attempted a couple different starts at fiction novels, but I keep coming back to the second collection of Bible stories I’m working on.

Earlier this year, I published I Was There. My first collection of ten Bible stories written from a first person perspective. I absolutely enjoyed writing it. In all truthfulness, it’s almost like writing fiction, because there are so many details to these stories that were not included in the Scriptures. But, even now as I read back through some of them, I am just constantly amazed at the love of Christ. It gets me excited to write stories about Him.

As Christians, we sing, pray, and talk about Jesus being our role model. We want to pattern our lives after Him.

But, do we really and truly mean that? It’s easy to lift our hands on a Sunday morning and worship with hundreds of other people, but are we willing to take the most important step of all and die to ourselves? If we haven’t killed off our flesh, it’s not possible to follow after Christ. He was love personified. 0% flesh.

He said to follow Him, so I know it’s possible for us to live as He did. To walk in righteousness. To completely put aside our self, and live in love. That’s what strikes people as being different from anything they have ever seen. The world has heard it all before. They are crying out to SEE it.

If we’re too busy boycotting everything, or picketing somewhere, how will the world know us by our love? They will know us more for what we stand against than Who we stand for.

Yes, we are to stand up for what we believe in. I get that, but it can be done from a motivation of love, and not self. If we love others as Jesus did, we won’t have to try and convince people of anything. They can’t walk away from a true love encounter unchanged. Besides, it’s not our job to “change” them or prove anything. We plant the seeds, sometimes we get the opportunity to water the seeds, and the Holy Spirit takes it from there. Sometimes, we get to be in on the fruition of seeds that someone else planted. It’s awesome and amazing the way God works.

There are a billion things I could write about on my blog. All I need to do is check Facebook or the national headlines, and I could write for hours on the hottest topics. I could start countless debates that would eventually lead into even more blog posts, but that’s not what I want to do.

I want to know that when my time on this planet has come to an end, I did everything I could to share Jesus with as many people as possible. Not so I can feel as if I made a difference. Only so people can have hope. Christ in me, the hope of glory. If you don’t agree with something I write or believe, that’s okay. You are the steward of your own heart. The truth of the Gospel doesn’t change just because someone doesn’t agree with it.

I took the comments feature off my blog a while back, because I’m not going to argue and debate with people about these things. I turned them on for this post. I would like to hear (especially from fellow writers) what kinds of things you like to write about, and what compels you to do so.

Whether you agree with me or not, I still love you. I won’t try to convince you of anything, I will love you. It changes nothing.

So, will the words ever stop? As long as I am in constant communion with my Father, they won’t. I will always have something to write about. Isn’t that cool?

18 thoughts on “Will the words ever stop?

  1. I began writing about my life and sometimes about God. I quit my blog to begin a new one to focus on issues my friend and I have noticed in our church. My blog name means to proclaim, so I figured if my voice wouldn’t be heard in church, I’d let my voice be heard online.

    However, the blog turned more into writing and what I knew about it and finding myself to be a writer. With reading my bible often and hearing gospel-filled sermons online, I’m recognizing what God has done and I’m desiring to share the gospel in truth and in love through my blog.

    I may post less about the topic of writing, but the truth of the gospel is what’s desperately needed more than anything else. The gospel is enough. I could go on and on about it. I don’t care of what readers and visitors think of me changing topics.

    Like

  2. I’ve also wondered if the words will ever stop. Worse still, I have this fear that my readers might get tired of my writing patterns and joke structures because I am the same author to different posts. But then again I am sure that God provides for His own. He doesn’t just give you creativity and leave you to figure it out on your own. Once the seed is in you, He will water it Himself and make it blossom in a fresh way to the world. Good read..

    Like

  3. Loving the opportunity to say again how much I enjoy your posts, Chris. Thanks for being an unashamed lover of your neighbours. I feel the same; God does not need a puny human being like me to defend Him from other puny human beings. The Truth will not change no matter how many people deny it, and bickering with them over denial will not help them, either.

    Like

  4. Maybe I am only responding to part of your post, but here it goes:

    I am not Christian, but I am reading a book about Jesus’ teachings (written by a non-Christian). Having not grown up with religion, in an essentially atheist household, I have always felt a need for some kind of moral/ethical framework. I have also marveled at the “supernatural” (for lack of a better word) quality of so many human dilemmas, how larger than life they seem, puzzling over how they can be addressed except via a supernatural intervention or faith in benevolent god. I believe I may be hardwired for religion, for God, and yet I have not been compelled to pursue a specific path. Recently, I think I experienced “faith” for the first time, faith at least in some manner of defining that word. I thought about how different my life would be if I felt that every day.

    ANYWAY, I attend a Unitarian Universalist church (please continue…:)) and enjoy it very much. It’s the first church I’ve tried that my husband will also attend. I love it, feel JOY there. I’m not sure it’s a 100% match, but I do know it’s come closest and that I cannot tolerate being told the the truth about things that I believe none of us can know. (Please keep reading… .) Maybe I will change my mind. Maybe I will start going to a “real” church. I don’t know.

    As far as WORDS go, I have too, too many. I open the “creative” door a crack and hoards of characters rush in, waving their million bits of story at me — “Do me, do me! Write this one down! Look! Listen!” But I sometimes think that if one’s ideas/notions/observations or even CREATIVITY outweighs that person’s conviction, then his/her meaning may be hard or impossible to render clearly. Or their meaning, their sense of meaning, is lost altogether. This is where I’ve been a long time.

    But I do think there’s hope. I do think if I live in a way (via good practices) that keeps me open to and on good terms with THE SOURCE of these words, which I do think resides outside of me (outside my conscious mind at least), then I think they will keep coming. And their meaning will grow and become clearer as I grow and become clearer. COURAGE more than discipline has been the thing for me….

    I never think about the market or publishing when I’m actually writing. Perhaps it shows! I only think about telling stories that I love, the story I WANT/NEED TO READ and SHARE. So again, I focus on good practices (USUALLY), like not staying up too late, sticking to a writing habit, etc., but not not to keep the words coming as much as to find the story, follow the path it wants to take, and, ultimately, finish it!

    Like

  5. wonderful thought, yes as a writer, words flow and one can go on writing, needs to get an inspiration, be imaginative or keep on reading; writing becomes an automatic reflection…

    Like

  6. Great post! I do hope the words keep coming for you!

    I apologize if in the past I have done anything to cause you to want to disable comments. Based on the comments above, you have a wonderful readership that wants to give you support! And although I am an atheist (and have a different perspective), I understand there’s a fine line between engaging people in dialogue and unproductive debate. That being said, I understand the desire to avoid unproductive debate as it tends to detract from the message you might wish to convey.

    Despite all of this, I would like to point out that by enabling comments here, you were able to get an atheist to encourage you to keep writing. I may not agree with everything you say, but I think it is very important that you are able to speak your mind about what you wish to speak about. Best wishes to you!

    Like

    1. Actually, it’s sad to say, but most of the people who don’t like my posts are those who are Christian. I take more heat and argumentative comments from them as opposed to anyone who claims to be atheist. As Christians, we are to love people, not argue, debate, or try to prove a point. Unfortunately, more people are turned off rather than turned onto anything spiritual. Everyone has heard about God, love, Christianity, and everything we believe….now, they need to actually see it. If we don’t live what we preach, no one will want what we have.

      Thanks again for stopping by and leaving this comment. I greatly appreciate it.

      Like

  7. I agree with you: we have to show Christ to others through our love. How. Many. TIMES. Did He tell us that?? And why can’t people seem to get the difference between love and condoning sin? As in, so many people think their first goal is to make sure EVERYONE KNOWS they don’t condone their sin? As if they themselves are blameless and without sin??

    I applaud what you are doing here, and enjoy reading your posts. I’m sorry you were in a place where you felt you needed to turn comments off. Perhaps moderating them would be a better option? Sometimes it makes me sad when I read a great post and can’t comment on it!

    Like

  8. I’m currently working on a book on hope — where in this world can anyone find hope? There’s only one place…

    Sometimes I feel my words are so, so, so inadequate. When King Solomon built the Temple, he said, “Not even the highest heavens can contain the Lord … so who am I to even think of building for Him?”

    That ‘s it for me, too — who am I to even think that the great news of hope can be put on a page, in black and white, and can convey even a drop of the glory?
    But I want to … oh! how I want to!
    And so I keep on.

    Like

  9. God’s kingdom to come, family and work are the passions I want to write. Many ideas have been written in its title and point form before publishing. But I haven’t been consistent to fully work upon it due to family and earning a meager income for a living. Life is hard.

    Like

  10. Yes. I hear getting out helps. Go to a busy coffee shop. Sit and listen to conversations. Make note of interesting things people say. Look around you at all the characters that are assembled. Make note of characteristics with which to embellish your characters.

    Like

  11. I wrote an entire first-person novel about Miryam, the mother of Yeshua. You’re right–it’s an amazing experience to put yourself into the Story like that. Did you self-publish yours? Is that (self-publishing) process worth it? I’m considering it.

    Like

    1. Yes, I self-published. If you are looking to make a ton of money on your book, it’s not the way to go. I would love to one day make a living off what I write, but it’s worth it to me just to get the message “out there”. I am probably the worst author to ask about promotion or getting noticed. I stopped quite a while ago with all the posting on social media and spending 5 hours a day trying to self-promote. I advertise maybe once a month now on some Facebook pages, but nothing really other than that.

      I am leaving it in the Lord’s hands who gets a copy of my books. I give copies (paperback and Kindle) as the Lord leads as well. I figure He knows what I need before I do, and He always meets our true needs. Matt 6:33

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

      1. Of course! I often do.

        Yeah–traditional publishing is not always the way to make “a ton of money” either. 😉 It sounds like you and I probably have similar approaches. Thanks for the impressions.

        Like

Would love to hear your thoughts...

