The twisted Gospel


I’ve gone about one week without Facebook, Twitter, and other social media, and it is amazing. I seriously doubt I will return to any of those apps. I want to keep my blog here, because I am a writer. I like to write. I want to share things that God puts on my heart, whether anyone agrees with them or not. I’m not here to argue or debate over things. The bottom line is this: Jesus paid a high price to reconcile me back to my Father. He said, she said…yeah, but…well, that’s not right… None of that stuff matters. If it’s not aligned with the heart and mind of God, I’m not interested.

The Gospel is good news.

Luke 2:10-11 says (emphasis mine):

10 Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. 11 For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.

Somehow we have turned this message into a struggle not to sin, barely making it through life, and riding the ups and downs of our experiences. Jesus said “It is finished”, not “To be continued.” Where is the joy? Where is the hope that lost people are so desperately seeking? Christ in us, the hope of glory. (Col 1:27) There is nothing that shows we are any different from the world, except that we go to church.

Here is what Christianity in this country looks like.

  1. See that you are a sinner
  2. Say this prayer (which didn’t even exist until maybe 500 years ago)
  3. You now have a ticket into Heaven
  4. Go to church

The problem with this is that we walk out of a church service, revival, or crusade and get mad at someone who cuts us off in traffic. We complain about our money, jobs, and circumstances. We argue and fight with our spouse on the way home. We are teaching our children that Christianity is just going to church.

Saying the “sinners prayer” doesn’t make us Christians. It’s a twisted form of the true Gospel.

The Gospel isn’t about being blessed by God and having our names in the book of life.

The Gospel is dying to self, picking up our cross, and following Jesus. During His time on Earth, Christ modeled the Christian life. He was entirely dead to His own flesh, and completely surrendered to love. He was love personified. I’ve said this before, and I’ll say it again. Jesus was a human man, filled with the Holy Spirit, walking in love. He said to follow Him. I know it’s possible.

We can live just as Christ did. 

Mark 16:14-18 (better known as the Great Commission) says:

14 Later He appeared to the eleven as they sat at the table; and He rebuked their unbelief and hardness of heart, because they did not believe those who had seen Him after He had risen. 15 And He said to them, “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature. 16 He who believes and is baptized will be saved; but he who does not believe will be condemned. 17 And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons; they will speak with new tongues; 18 they[b] will take up serpents; and if they drink anything deadly, it will by no means hurt them; they will lay hands on the sick, and they will recover.”

It doesn’t say the signs that follow believers are: complaining, division, conditional love, hypocrisy, judgement, condemnation, pride, and selfishness.

Just the very fact that we complain shows we are concerned with our self. Which, if I read my Bible correctly, means we aren’t dead to self, which means we aren’t following Christ. He said to die to self.

It’s impossible to walk in love if we are still holding on to our self. 

Here are the attributes of love from 1 Cor 13. I love the Message Bible version.

Love never gives up.
Love cares more for others than for self.
Love doesn’t want what it doesn’t have.
Love doesn’t strut,
Doesn’t have a swelled head,
Doesn’t force itself on others,
Isn’t always “me first,”
Doesn’t fly off the handle,
Doesn’t keep score of the sins of others,
Doesn’t revel when others grovel,
Takes pleasure in the flowering of truth,
Puts up with anything,
Trusts God always,
Always looks for the best,
Never looks back,
But keeps going to the end.

All of these attributes are the complete, polar opposite of self.

Satan believes that we love our selves more than we love God.

Let’s prove him wrong, and drop the twisted Gospel. Let’s die to our self, and walk in love.

16 thoughts on “The twisted Gospel

  1. Thank you for posting this. Do you have children of any age? If so, I woukd be interested in pists you may have on parenting. Our children are older. One teenager and two young adults. Thank you.

    Like

  2. Sometimes we forget the origination of Christianity, we need look back to where it all started. Yes! Where it all began, right there at Antioch where the disciples taught and for the first time called Christians Acts 11:26 {the only place this very word existed in the KJV Bible note: Christian appeared 2wice} they were indeed Christ like, humble like him, spoke like him, behave like, taught like, acted like, and so on…

    We need to seek the old path, find the ancient ways and walk therein, Jer 6:16. please let’s not say nay.

    Shalom

    Like

  3. I’ve found it helpful to know when I will turn off social media or when and how long I’ll spend on it. When I am really connecting with a friend or person, I’ll bend the time a little. But I do tend to ask to get off when I recognize I’m ignore the weightier things for something that I wont regret putting down. I know that I could give it up which helps me stay on in a moderate fashion.

    Like

  4. I agree with you completely. We need to be careful to distinguish the difference between a works-based faith and a faith that shows good fruits. The two are distinctly different. Because we died to sin, we are forgiven once and for all. However, that doesn’t give us a license to sin. It should empower and motivate us to do more. If Christ lives in me, it stands to reason that my fruits glorify Him.

    Romans 6:4~

    We were buried therefore with him by baptism into death, in order that, just as Christ was raised from the dead by the glory of the Father, we too might walk in newness of life.

    As for the church, some would argue that you speak out against the good, but I think we should have a distrust for some (not all, but most in our country) of the churches today. We are living in the last days.

    2 Corinthians 11:13-15~

    For such men are false apostles, deceitful workmen, disguising themselves as apostles of Christ. And no wonder, for even Satan disguises himself as an angel of light. So it is no surprise if his servants, also, disguise themselves as servants of righteousness. Their end will correspond to their deeds.

    Like

  5. I think the same, Twitter and Facebook are full of people who just wanna read short things on the go without much deep meaning unless you are quite good at compling words (Twitter). A blog will end up going to someone who will seriously read you.
    Nice to see you write things. Maybe my lack of trust on the churches comes to show up here but I feel somehow that even if you take off the bible extracts it will still make sense since you are making comments about essential human things or human nature or behaviours. I try to say that your words are totally right no matter you support them or not. Still respect your faith and like your writing style and blog.
    I am one of your fans.

    Like

  6. I’m so glad you put in bold, “It’s impossible to walk in love if we are still holding on to our self.” I LOVE that sentence. I’ve been checking out your website, reading older posts and I am truly inspired by what you’re writing. Thank you for following my blog, I feel that is to my benefit because now I have found yours!

    Like

  7. Thanks for that post. The empty Gospel we see all around us is awful. Most awful is the very real possibility that there are multitudes of people running around truly believing their salvation is secure just because they recited some Sinner’s prayer. Those people become the hardest to reach with a true Gospel of repentance, forgiveness and salvation because they are thinking things are just fine and dandy..as you said, they have their ticket to heaven

    Like

  8. I have read elsewhere that the perfect Christian looks rather like a dead body and think this is true. Jesus calls us out of the world, but our self motivator encourages us to believe that if we go the worlds way with Christian Speke we can pack our churches full. Problem is just as you say we want heaven and the world and are never still enough, in worship to let the Holy Spirit correct us. The Scriptures are read and preached yes, but perhaps our eyes and ears are always on the next thing, etc. etc. i think your post thoughtful and theologically correct. Thank you

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts...

