Labels


Everything has a label. Actually, everyone has a label as well.

I read in my Bible that we aren’t supposed to regard people in the flesh once we are born again. Well, here, let me show you. 2 Corinthians 5:14-17 says (emphasis mine):

14 For the love of Christ compels us, because we judge thus: that if One died for all, then all died; 15 and He died for all, that those who live should live no longer for themselves, but for Him who died for them and rose again.

16 Therefore, from now on, we regard no one according to the flesh. Even though we have known Christ according to the flesh, yet now we know Him thus no longer.17 Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.

This is one of my favorite passages of scripture. Truth just leaps off the pages and screams from the mountaintops. If you combine this with the other passage about our fight not being against flesh and blood, it all begins to make sense.

When we label people, we are regarding them in the flesh. We fail to see their created value.

You’re pro abortion.

You’re a homosexual.

You’re Catholic.

You’re Presbyterian.

You’re Mormon.

You’re a devil worshiper.

You’re an alcoholic.

People find their identity in that stuff. The bottom line is this: We are all people, human beings, created in the image of God. Period.

Galatians 3:28 says:

28 There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female; for you are all one in Christ Jesus.

That’s awesome.

Insert a label into that verse to take the place of Jew or Greek, slave or free.

Paul isn’t saying we are all the same. Like robots. We are all one in Christ. Everything was made through Christ. We were created in His image. We are all sons and daughters of the King. We all have a destiny and purpose. It’s why we were created.

To manifest the image of God here on Earth.

To become love. That’s why we’re here. How can we do that if all we see is a label?

If you’re a Baptist, and you come across a Lutheran, you’re already thinking about differences in beliefs and how you will defend your doctrine, etc. It’s crazy.

We get so tied up in debate, the desire to be right, and our own arrogance, we fail to see people through the lens of God.

And there is only one way He looks at us. With love.

How do I know that? Because the Bible says that God so loved the world, that He gave. And you know what is truly awesome? It will say that same thing tomorrow. And the next day. And the next.

There is only one way I want to be labeled, and that’s as a believer.

I’m not any one denomination. I’m not a result of my past. I have been bought with a price. I’m born again. The old is gone, and all things have become new. Not some things. All.

Once we realize that, and understand that we are no longer bound by sin, it will change everything.

Let’s throw away the labels of denomination and society, and see people through love.

17 thoughts on “Labels

  1. Great post, brother Chris. I’m always striving to do better at loving people (I fail a lot)–the more I steep myself in God’s love for me, the easier that road is. “Comparison” is one of the devil’s fave tools to sidetrack and defeat us–whether it’s to compare denominational doctrine or human behavior. I’m neither better nor worse than anyone else–what’s more important is that I’m secure of my standing IN CHRIST. God bless you and your family–hope you enjoyed an abundant Thanksgiving (and weren’t caught in that awful storm).

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I know how it feels to be labeled. I was labeled a mistake. I know the truth now and it is I was not a mistake I am a child of God. He brought me into this world for a reason. He loved me enough to give his son’s life for me so I could be free of sin. He is truly a awesome God.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hello Chris, this seems to be a timely word. I just preached on this issue and that passage in 1 Corinthians last Sunday. Its a huge part of a series I just completed on The Conscience. If you’re interested you can hear it on SoundCloud at Salt of the Earth Florida. Parts 5 and 6, in particular, address this.

    Like

  4. People as me what denomination I am…or as a pastor the church I serve at…
    My answer has become and will remain:
    I AM A CHILD OF GOD!
    Plain and simple! Excellent Post as always – such a simple concept and yet we make it so complicated.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Excellent my friend, and exactly why I always answer people who ask that irksome question with the same honest answer. “I’m non-denominational, because I think every denomination holds to some of the truth, and none that I know of hold to it all, or at least don’t over-emphasize certain aspects of the truth to their detriment.” I follow Christ as well as I am able, and pray each day that His Spirit will lead me into following His way even closer. To be honest though, I’m still working on dropping the labels that I see others through, it takes a lot of work to overcome a lifetime of bad habits, so I keep trying, and ask for forgiveness when I fail. Thanks for the great post. God bless.

    Like

  6. This is good stuff, Chris. This is something that I think about on a regular basis and I love reading someone else’s heart on the matter. That verse in 2 Corinthians is on it. When we don’t see people apart from Christ, it changes everything. I can’t help but to love everyone!!! What a concept! Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. So true. And labels that have a negative meaning such as “I’m an alcoholic” or “I’m stupid” can really have a negative impact on a person’s life. They live by that label not knowing that they’re so much better than that and they can overcome the label they’ve been given by others or themselves.

    When it comes to denominations within the church, I’ve never really gone into that. Baptists, Lutherans, Protestants… I just don’t like going into all the details of the differences. Like you said, the main thing is that we are all believers. In fact, according to my mom, her and I are Protestants (I did not know this for a long time) and yet both of us attended Liberty University Online, which is a Baptist-based university.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Interesting topic.
    Indeed most people just like labeling other people as a way to avoid getting to know them or stopping to think too much if such labels are totally right or not.
    People who like using their mind more intensely would instead use labels to make initial landmarks on the other person personality to see where to start at when socially interacting and from then start labeling more accurately.
    Indeed we are all the same underneath it all and what’s why it’s possible to guess other people at some point. We are similar as humans with brains but just are used to making different decisions or choices according to experience, education and environment.
    Most people fail to see people’s mind since they are too narcissists to forget about themselves and emulate other minds. Or just see humans as humans or use those “lens of God” or love.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by. That’s why we have to show God’s love to people. It doesn’t matter where they’ve come from, what they’ve done, or how they talk. We love, plant seeds, and God does the rest. Have an awesome day.

      Like

  9. We’ll said. I believe I can retain the labels that define who I am on this earth. I believe I can see the differences in those around me, their labels of religion, political stance and race. I don’t want to deny them those identities either. The difference is on being able to love and accept despite those differences.

    Like

    1. Thanks for stopping by to read and comment. I definitely see what you mean. My main point in this post is to just love people by seeing who they were created to be. Doesn’t matter where they came from, what they do, or what they say. Have an awesome day.

      Liked by 1 person

Would love to hear your thoughts...

