Passive Christianity


I want to get real with you today. No over-used cliches, catchy one-liners, or bumper sticker theology.

I had a blog post about faith and fear all lined up and ready to publish this morning. Then I watched a video yesterday from Todd White, and knew I needed to post something different. We’ll save the other one for next week.

I have so many things rattling around inside that I don’t even know where to start.

I’m tired of being a passive Christian. Let’s start with that. I believe Jesus paid a very high price to reconcile us back to the Father. What does that mean exactly? It means we can once again be in right standing with God. Back in the Garden as if we had never missed the mark. It means He didn’t pay that price so we can play church, sit around waiting to be swept into Heaven, or keep the amazing news of the Gospel all to ourselves.

My wife and I had a brief taste of what truly being a Christian is all about. I wrote about it HERE 

We were out there talking to people, praying for the sick, helping others. It was amazing. Then something happened. We allowed ourselves to get comfortable again, and all of that got placed on the back burner. We once again became passive. We started to get back to the old patterns of being concerned with just ourselves and our own little world. The flame that was ignited and began to burn brightly returned to being a dull ember.

And it sucks, to put it plainly. I tell my girls not to use that word, so let’s just keep it as our secret.

What are we doing? Are we so obsessed with our own lives, that we have forgotten why Jesus died? I don’t want to be standing in front of my King on THAT day and see someone I know in the other line that doesn’t lead through the pearly gates. Especially knowing I could have shared Jesus with them. We aren’t here to chase people down and beat them in the head with a Bible.

We’re here to plant seeds. We’re here to be a light. We’re here to love people.

All God is asking us to do is give up something that we were never created to be in the first place. Why is that so hard? He didn’t create us for us. He created us for Him. Satan has used our self, our flesh, to keep us from an intimate relationship with our Creator.

Jesus didn’t say deny satan and follow me. He said deny our self.

Last week, I heard a very well known pastor say God allows us to endure hardships in order to teach us lessons. That is simply not true. There was no mention of the enemy who roams around trying to devour us. No talk about how only good things come from above. Not even a tiny side note about our identity in Christ and how amazing God is as a father. It was all about God doing this or allowing that. Basically, God on trial.

If what the pastor said is true, why would we be given power and authority from God? Why would He say pray for the sick, raise the dead, and cast out demons? We would be left wondering if God was trying to teach us something through the hardships. What would be the point in anything? “Well, I lost my job and my wife ran out on me. God must be trying to teach me something.”

NO. STOP IT. The enemy is trying to devour you and wants you to blame God.

Sadly, this mindset is being preached in most churches today. Well, at least the ones I’ve visited or watched online. And I believe it’s causing a lot of people to be passive.

Faith isn’t running to God when everything goes to hell. It’s a daily relationship with our Father. Even when we don’t “feel” it. We live by faith, not feelings.

If we don’t push all our chips to the center of the table and go all-in with God, we can’t possibly follow Jesus. Being a Christian isn’t about escaping this earth for a promised Heaven. It’s about waking up every single day and becoming love to everyone around us. We can’t say Jesus has our heart but hold back our life from Him.

If you are a Christian and you’ve got a problem with this person or that person, let me tell you something. It’s not them. It’s you. You’re the issue. I’m not saying they didn’t do some bad stuff to you, but their stuff shouldn’t have the power to potter and mold you.

If we become free from our self, then we are free from everyone else. Our war isn’t against people. Paul says to regard no one in the flesh any longer. We have to see people through the eyes of God.

I’m tired of being lukewarm and passive.

Who’s with me?

17 thoughts on “Passive Christianity

  1. Humm…you shared a lot for me to chew on with this post. I get what you are saying on being a passive Christian. I don’t want to get to heaven and realize how little I trusted God, believed Him and obeyed Him, even when it was hard. I believe that the Lord does send some trials to test us and grow us. Some may be at the hand of the enemy, but he can’t do anything that the Lord allows it and it’s for His good purpose and plan. Even when the trials are sent by the Lord, it doesn’t mean that we should passively sit back and take it and do nothing. But there are times when we do need to trust God when He is seemingly quiet or not answering our prayers as we have asked. Am I going to trust God in the good times and bad? Will I be faithful to praise God all the time? Will I be bold in sharing the Gospel message with those who are perishing?

    Like I said…there was a lot to think about and mull over with this post. Thanks for stirring up some thinking about the Lord and what He would have His people to do.

    Like

  2. Hardships happen whether from the state of the world and mankind because of “the fall’ or because of the enemy, they happen. God will use them for our good, even if we do not see it. Brent Curtis and John Eldredge talked about the enemy trying to tell us that God’s heart is not good, that He is not with us, that He does not hear us, and the He does not love us. It was in the Garden that the enemy first spoke to man about that and tempted us to doubt God’s intentions for us. He overexerts himself to try to keep us doubting God’s intentions for us and even God’s very existence. Chapter 5 of The Sacred Romance by Brent Curtis and John Eldredge will blow your mind, it sure did mine. The whole book is incredible and the workbook is essential too. God has only our good in mind but we live in a fallen world, beloved by our Creator so much that He sacrificed his Son for us. Wow. But He never promised us that life would be easy. If its too easy, check your spiritual pulse and see if the enemy has lulled you asleep.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hmm. Thinking through what you said. There is a lot in Scripture that does indicate God sends trials our ways. What would you call what the apostles went through? How about Paul? On the other hand, I think we are most definitely the author of most of our struggles. I think there’s enough evidence in Scripture to support both views. Either way, God is our strength. God bless you and keep up the good work.

    Like

  4. Like everyone else, I needed to hear this today. I tend to think everything is a test from the big task master in the sky instead of seeing the devil at work and my own flawed thinking. I forget how I felt about Jesus after REALLY reading John’s Gospel.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. My Dad’s been out of a job for almost a year now and it’s been interesting and challenging to see how God has been getting us through it. He’s certainly been teaching us a lot. This post was really good to read, and personally I know how hard it is for me to realize that when I’m annoyed at someone, it’s my problem and not theirs.
    Thanks for what you’ve said and God bless

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Chris,
    I almost bypassed this one but the enemy lost. I sooo needed to read this. I thank you for your candor. I think that you are the only one who could have said it this way for me to GET! For being HIS vessel, thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amen Brother Chris! As Christians, we simply can’t keeping sitting on our seat, but we have to be Bold and courageous in the name of Jesus Christ to plant His Word every chance and opportunity we are presented with. Romans 5:3 “And not only that, but we also glory in tribulations, knowing that tribulation produces perseverance;” (NKJV) If you keep sitting on your seat, you will have no tribulation! It’s time to persevere by putting into action your faith, and allow your faith to produce godly fruitful works by exercising your faith as James speaks of: James 2:18 “But someone will say, “You have faith, and I have works.” Show me your faith without your works, and I will show you my faith by my works.” AND James 2:20 “But do you want to know, O foolish man, that faith without works is dead?” AND James 2:26 “For as the body without the spirit is dead, so faith without works is dead also.” All praise and glory to God our Father and to our LORD and Saviour Jesus Christ!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I agree that God is not pulling heavenly strings this way and that to teach us lessons. I particularly dislike the common saying, “God won’t give you more than you can handle.” God is Love. He does not GIVE us hardships. Hardships were brought on us by our own fall from grace. Now we must live with disease, poverty, emotional distress etc. How we live is the key. I too am guilty of a passive Christianity. Especially during this Lenten season, it’s time to step out of my comfort zone and help bring about the Kingdom. Thanks for the reminder.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. hardships to me are those little bumps which help you stretch your faith and actually force you to think a little less of yourself in the light of the world.

    they’re the little pruning that hurt at once, but then you realize i can shrivel up and die or I can sprout out and bear more fruit in the word and the way of faith (trusting God has a bigger view in mind)

    Like

  10. Definitely. Thank you for sharing your inspirations and thoughts, particularly to love thy neighbor as thyself–it’s definitely not practiced much. I had an experience this weekend. My husband works most hours…6 days a week. I live on a busy street and had turned on my hazard lights to pull alongside of my mailbox to get the mail. I had groceries to carry into the house from the car and I had not realized that I had left the hazard lights on. Later, when I went out to use the car the battery had gone dead. Of all of the cars that pass by and any close neighbors, of which there are plenty driving by, no one bothered to come up to the house and inform me that I had left my hazard lights on. Simple acts of compassion are acts that are greatly needed right now in this World. I sure could have used that instead of a dead battery :(.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I believe that hardship doesn’t have to be an attack on our souls. Rather, the selfishness we’re inclined to turn to is the attack. Hardship can be edifying, can be purifying. By leaving behind what we’ve hung onto wrongfully –our idols– we make space for the reliance we can instead have on God, as it should be. Rather than believing hardship to be a source for lessons to be learned, although lessons can be learned from it, or as attacks from the enemy, although in the midst of hardships, there can be such attacks, I think hardship should be seen as a necessary process– as a thing we’ve just got to go through as fallen human beings, like a tree being pruned of its unhealthy, unfruitful branches in order for the healthy branches to be healthier. Although it’s painful now, it’s a good thing.

    Liked by 3 people

Would love to hear your thoughts...

