Arise


I’ve been writing some lyrics the last couple of days. That’s how it happens for me. I’ll go for months not writing anything like that, and then all of a sudden, BOOM, I start getting ideas like crazy. This morning’s creation is entitled Arise.

 
Arise
Copyright 2014 Chris Martin

(verse one)

There was a time when darkness was all I knew
Living for me, not even thinking about You
Pushing the limits, testing Your reach
Running from the light, dying inside of me

But Your hand reached down, despite my shame
A whisper in the night, You called me by name
You said arise, my son, it’s time to come home
There was never a time when you were all alone

(chorus)

Arise
Step out of the darkness and into the light
Arise
Death and sin have forever lost the fight

Arise
Bringing hope with a brand new day
Arise
It’s time to show the world that love is the only way

Arise

(verse two)

Nailed to the cross, darkness was all I knew
I died to me, I called out to You
Body pushed to the limits, I always knew Your reach
I ran towards the light, it burned inside of Me

Then Your hand reached down, at the end of three days
You whispered in the morning, You called Me by name
You said arise, my Son, it’s time to come home
Come sit at my side, be at rest on Your throne

(repeat chorus)

10 thoughts on “Arise

  1. I especially appreciate the reminder, “There was never a time when you were all alone”. I often think, “fine, I’m out of sight, out of your mind. Forget you then.” Not so with such a Savior. Good work!

    Like

  2. Jesus did what we could not do…darkness did not impede His mission to save us. Your lyrics reminds me of this so well! God’s blessings and thank you for being faithful to His call to write for Him!

    Like

Would love to hear your thoughts...

